Members of the CEC

Serge Scrafield - Chair

Serge Scrafield was appointed Chair of the Clean Environment Commission in September 2016.

Mr. Scrafield retired from the Manitoba Government in 2014 after 38 years of service. For 22 of these years Mr. Scrafield served as an Assistant Deputy Minister for the former departments of Environment and Conservation and Water Stewardship. Early in his career he worked in land planning with the former departments of Municipal Affairs and Rural Development.

Glen Cummings - Commissioner

Glen Cummings is retired and resides in Neepawa. Mr. Cummings was a member of the Legislative Assembly of Manitoba from 1986 to 2007, during which time he also served as Minister of the Environment and Minister of Natural Resources. He was also a farmer for most of his life and with his father, operated a mixed farm with beef cattle and hogs and grain and oilseed crops. In the past, Glen has been chairperson of the local agricultural society and chairperson of Beautiful Plains School Division. Mr. Cummings is currently an active member of the Rotary Club in Neepawa.    

Jay Doering - Commissioner        

Dr. John (Jay) Doering currently works as the Associate Vice-President (Partnerships) at the University of Manitoba. He previously served as the Vice-Provost (Graduate Education) and Dean of Graduate Studies at the University of Manitoba. Dr. Doering is a professor of civil engineering with 30 years of experience practicing in the area of water resources engineering. He has published approximately 100 articles in refereed journals, conferences, and technical reports, and has edited technical conference proceedings. In 2002 he was awarded the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal for Public Service and in 2016 he was awarded the Engineers Geoscientists Manitoba, Technical Excellence Award. He has been elected twice to serve on Council for Engineers Geoscientists Manitoba.  In 2017 he was elected a Fellow of The Canadian Academy of Engineering.

Ian Gillies - Commissioner

Ian Gillies worked at Cargill Limited from 1984 to 2013 in several capacities including AVP of Human Resources, Integration Manager for a major acquisition, Director of Operations for the Calgary Inland Grain Terminal and as Manager of Corporate Affairs. He also served as a Senior Management Consultant at KPMG and worked for the Government of Canada as a Policy Advisor to the Federal Economic Development Coordinator in Manitoba. Ian has volunteered with several non-profits. He served as Treasurer and Chair of the Finance and Administration and the Investment Committees of the United Way of Winnipeg. Mr. Gillies serves as Board chair for Macdonald Youth Services and volunteers in the Winnipeg 1 English as a Second Language program. Ian is a graduate of the Master of Natural Resource Management program at the University of Manitoba and also served as an Assistant professor at the Natural Resource Institute. Ian was born and raised in Winnipeg.

Terry Johnson - Commissioner        

Terry Johnson graduated from Red River College as an electrical technologist and worked for Manitoba Hydro for over 13 years. Terry and his wife then moved back to the family farm in the Elkhorn area and farmed for over 23 years. After selling most of their farm they moved to Virden, where they now live. Mr. Johnson then worked for the Virden Credit Union for over five years while being was semi-retired. During this time he served as councilor for the RM of Archie and as Reeve and later, for the town of Virden as councilor and Deputy Mayor. Terry has had the rare privilege of serving on a number of municipal, provincial and federal boards and local community organizations. Spare time is spent travelling and part time farming.

Betty Leitch - Commissioner

Betty Leitch completed a Master of Natural Resource Management degree at the University of Manitoba and then spent five years as Executive Director of the Manitoba Water Commission. She worked in the private sector for numerous years consulting on resources and economic issues as well as working with the federal government, including the Prairie Farm Rehabilitation Administration (PFRA) and Parks Canada. In addition, Betty worked on federal-provincial environmental reviews including the North Central Hydro Transmission Line and an initial Conawapa dam review. Betty was born and raised in Winnipeg and currently divides her time between Victoria BC and Winnipeg.  She moved into the non-profit sector working for Swan Lake Nature Sanctuary and Volunteer Victoria in Victoria BC. Among her volunteer work Betty served several years as Executive Director of Operation Red Nose Winnipeg in its inaugural years. 

Tim Sopuck - Commissioner

Tim Sopuck was born and raised in Manitoba, earned a BSc (Hons.) in Zoology at the University of Manitoba and has worked for over three decades in habitat conservation and related fields. Mr. Sopuck is currently Chief Executive Officer of the Manitoba Habitat Heritage Corporation, where he has worked for over two decades. Prior to that he worked at Fort Whyte Alive (Director of Development) and Ducks Unlimited (Bio-Technician). Mr. Sopuck currently serves on the Boards of the Assiniboine River Basin Initiative, Canadian Land Trust Alliance, Prairie Habitat Joint Venture and North American Wetlands Conservation Council (Canada). Tim also has direct experience with the trapping industry, as well as a remote commercial fishery, having lived for 18 months in a Cree-and-Metis community in northern Manitoba.

Laurie Streich - Commissioner

Laurie Streich began her career as a reporter with the Winnipeg Free Press. She joined the Manitoba government in 1981 and has served as Manager and Chief Editor for the State of Environment reporting program, Director of the Pollution Prevention Branch and Chair of the grant review committee for the Sustainable Development Innovations Fund and the Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment’s (CCME) Pollution Prevention Awards Program. She was a member of the City of Winnipeg’s advisory group to improve waste management and recycling services. Laurie retired from the government in 2015. She is a member of the Winnipeg Chamber of Commerce’s Environmental Leadership Council.

Vincent Tacan - Commissioner   

Vincent Tacan resides in Oak Lake and a former councillor and Chief of Sioux Valley Dakota Nation. Mr. Tacan has worked in the trades, was a police officer with training in suicide intervention, mediation, domestic violence group facilitation, as well as justice case conferencing. Following a short time in leadership with Sioux Valley he then became a correctional officer and a probation officer. More recently Mr. Tacan has acted as an Aboriginal court worker and was Chief of Sioux Valley Dakota Nation.

Cathy Johnson - Secretary

Cathy Johnson is the Commission Secretary. Reporting to the Chairperson, the Commission Secretary is responsible for the overall operation of the Commission. Ms. Johnson served as Secretary since 2005 and has over 35 years of government service. Ms. Johnson has a variety of experience with local, provincial, national and international conservation programs at the field and administrative level.

Cheyenne Halcrow - Administrative Assistant

Cheyenne Halcrow is the Administrative Assistant to the Commission. Cheyenne provides administrative support to the Clean Environment Commission and is usually the first point of contact for our clients.