Manitoba Clean Environment Commission


Lake Winnipeg Regulation - Manitoba Hydro

On July 5, 2011, the Minister of Conservation at the request of the Minister of Water Stewardship, has asked the Clean Environment Commission to conduct a review regarding the licensing of regulation of Lake Winnipeg under The Water Power Act.

Terms of Reference

The Commission will begin hearing sessions in Winnipeg in early March. Daily schedules are available on the Participation page. To stay informed of updates you may insert your e-mail address at the bottom of our Home Page or check our Facebook page (link at the bottom of our Home Page). You will be informed as information becomes available.

Background Information

If you would like to be notified as more information becomes available please insert your e-mail address at the bottom of the Home Page.

Instructions on submitting a written submission are available under the "Participation" tab.

Panel Members

Terry Sargeant (Chair)

Serge Scrafield was appointed Chair of the Clean Environment Commission in September 2016.

Terry Sargeant has been the Chair of the Clean Environment Commission since January 2004. Prior to that, he was the Chief Appeal Commissioner of the Workers Compensation Appeal Commission.

In 1996, following almost twenty years of government service, with the House of Commons and the governments of Manitoba, Yukon and British Columbia, Terry enrolled in the Faculty of Law at the University of Manitoba, graduating in 1999. Following a year of articling with the Public Interest Law Centre, he was called to the Manitoba Bar in June 2000.

In other activities, he serves on the boards of Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra, Border Crossings magazine, the Council of Canadian Administrative Tribunals and the Manitoba Council of Administrative Tribunals. Past service has included the boards of the University of Manitoba, the Winnipeg Folk Festival and the Manitoba Theatre Centre.

Edwin Yee (Commissioner)

Edwin Yee is a retired environmental consultant with 30 years experience in regulatory management of toxic chemicals, hazardous waste and contaminated sites. Mr. Yee has participated in the development of national and international guidelines and standards for soil quality and petroleum hydrocarbons and provided guidance to the Abandoned Mines Advisory Committee.

Neil Harden (Commissioner)

Neil Harden is a retired Professional Engineer with many years experience in the water resources field. He worked for more than 20 years as a Hydraulic Engineer and Hydrologist with the Manitoba Water Resources Branch, including during the flood of 1997. He also worked for Ducks Unlimited Canada doing wetland conservation across Canada. Neil served over 12 years on the Municipal Board of Manitoba. He has a BSc in Civil Engineering and a Master of Engineering degree, both from the University of Manitoba.

Beverly Suek (Commissioner)

Beverly Suek is a Chartered Arbitrator, certified by the ADR Institute of Canada and has conducted over 100 arbitrations in labour relations and consumer issues. Ms Suek has been in private business for over 30 years conducting workplace investigations, organizational reviews and conflict resolution processes. She has worked with government, business, unions, non-profits, First Nations communities and Aboriginal organizations.

Ms. Suek was a Commissioner with the Provincial Civil Service Commission for 13 years. She also has been Chair of Manitoba Lotteries Corporation, Chair of Women's Enterprises Centre of Manitoba, Chair of the Manitoba Advisory Council on the Status of Women, Chair of the Community Committee for the Birthing Centre, President of the SDB Housing Co-operative, President of Kali Shiva AIDs Services and President of Riverview Community Centre.

Upload a Written Submission or Presentation

As set out in the Terms of Reference provided by the minister and outlined in the Review Directive, a web-based review process is to be available for those who may have comments regarding the RCEA, but are outside the region of interest. To submit written comments use the on-line system below, filling in your contact information and attaching a written submission. DEADLINE FOR WRITTEN SUBMISSIONS IS OCTOBER 2, 2017.

Written submissions are welcome please send to

Become a Presenter



Written Submissions

Final Report

The Minister of Conservation and Water Stewardship released the final report on Lake Winnipeg Regulation on October 19, 2015.